I don’t know if I told y’all the story about why I went raw.

One morning, while I was on travel in San Diego, I prayed to God to help me release my weight. I had hit a wall (travel doesn’t help), and I just didn’t know what to do.

A couple of days later, I heard a voice that said, “you should go raw, babe”. That was it for me.

I’ve been broken for a long time. Hurt, guilt, shame, fear… I have let it affect me in so many ways. For example, I have wanted to be an entrepreneur since I was a teenager. I read Rich Dad, Poor Dad and Multiple Streams of Income when I was 15. In 2004, I left my full time job and started my own business, and built it up over the next 5 years. Every day, all day. Blood, sweat, tears, money, time: I gave it everything I had. During this period, I have never felt so empowered. Conversely, this is when I gained the majority of my weight. I lived on junk food and ignored myself as I put my business needs first. By the end, I was burnt out. Wait…. to say I was burnt out is a major, MAJOR understatement. I was crispy. I ended my 4-year relationship. I felt like I failed in my business (I didn’t, but it was my impression). I lost my center. I checked out, and I remained checked out for 2 years.

Wishin’ Ain’t Doin’ was a start back for me. It was a way for me to begin to get rid of all my old baggage and define what I really want for my life. I was able to fight through my initial questions and hesitations about losing weight, and to begin to identify my issues. It helped me to take the time to understand what I like, what I don’t, what works and what hasn’t. It’s also helped me identify my crap. I haven’t always been consistent, I let stress affect my eating, I have had a hard time finishing. I’ve done a lot of work, but there’s so much more to do.

Making the decision to go raw was a straight-up shock to me, but it’s sparked something amazing in me. My entrepreneurial spark has come back, and even though I’m at the beginning again, I feel more like myself than I have in years. That fact alone makes me know that this is right for me.

In typical Carla fashion, I’m going to document the journey on my new blog, Raw Raw Life. I’m still going to talk about weight loss, emotions, frustrations, and all the funny stuff that comes up. I hope you join me there!

Thank you so much for all of your support, comments, and love. It has helped more than I can say.

